Posted by: Janet | July 23, 2009

Farewell to Ireland

We are coming up to the last Sunday in July.  Traditionally this is the Sunday for climbing Ireland’s sacred mountain, Croagh Patrick, in County Mayo.  I would love to do this as a symbolic farewell before we move to Seattle.  There was an article in the Irish Times this morning advising climbers not to climb barefoot or in sandals, flip flops, Wellingtons, stilettos  or other inappropriate footwear.  The mind boggles.  Approximately 20,000 people are expected to climb the mountain for the national pilgrimage on Sunday and there will be a celebratory Mass at 10:30 a.m. in the mountaintop oratory. 

 

I have a lawn bowling match next Monday afternoon – if I were to climb Croagh Patrick the day before, in high heels or any other footwear, I don’t think I would be in any fit state to bowl the next day.  So alas, I will have to give it a miss for another year.  Maybe I should aim to return to visit Ireland on that particular weekend and make the climb then.  Eek, I’ll be even older then and the climb will not be getting any easier!

Leave a Reply

Categories

